Certified Interpreter

An interpreter transfers a spoken or signed message from one language into a spoken or signed message in another language, for the purpose of communication between people who do not share the same language.

Interpreters work in certain typical domains, situations and interpreting modes, depending on the certification they hold.

NAATI’s Certified Interpreter test is an objective assessment of the skills and competencies needed to practice as an interpreter in Australia.

Learn more about the different certification types.

Apply for certification

If you already hold a NAATI certification and want to apply for an additional certification, you'll need to log into myNAATI to apply. 

If this is your first NAATI certification, then apply below: 
Apply for NAATI certification

There are four pathways to become eligible to sit a Certified Interpreter test. Click here to use an interactive wizard to work out a certification pathway.

Or you can click here to look at the summary document. 

For spoken languages, the Certified Interpreter test involves eight tasks:

Two dialogues

  • One Consecutive Interpreting face-to-face dialogue task
  • One Consecutive Interpreting remote dialogue task

Two sight translations (in the same domains as the dialogue tasks)

  • One Sight Translation into Language Other Than English (LOTE) task – related to, and immediately after, face to face dialogue task
  • One Sight Translation into English task – related to, and immediately after, remote dialogue task

Four monologues

  • One Consecutive Interpreting – Monologue into LOTE task
  • One Consecutive Interpreting – Monologue into English task
  • One Simultaneous Interpreting – Monologue into LOTE task
  • One Simultaneous Interpreting – Monologue into English task

The tasks will involve different situations from different domains, including at least one from the health domain and one from the legal domain.

The following video explains what will happen on the day of the test. 

It is essential that you also read and understand the following information prior to attending the test:

NAATI has developed a series of example test tasks to help you prepare for the test:

Each of the example tasks above are in English so you have the opportunity of practising interpreting into your LOTE. Please consult the candidate information to learn more about how each test task will operate.

These materials are © National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters Ltd 2019 and cannot be reproduced without the written permission of NAATI.

NAATI will be conducting a range of Certified Interpreter tests between the following dates:

  • 2 - 6 September 2019: Auslan (All states: depending on demand)
  • 28 October - 1 November 2019: Mandarin
  • 4 - 8 November 2019: Korean, Cantonese
  • 11 - 15 November 2019: Persian, Arabic
  • 27 - 31 January 2020: French
  • 3 - 6 February 2020: Russian, Japanese
  • 10 - 15 February 2020: Spanish

The list of dates above is not exhaustive. Testing may only be available in some states, depending on demand.

Further dates will be published as they become available. NAATI reserves the right to amend test dates and languages up to eight weeks before the scheduled test date.

Click here to find out about certification prerequisites, and here to apply for a certification test.

Please note that NAATI must have assessed your application as 'eligible for testing' before you can be invited to one of these test sessions. Click here to learn more about how certification tests are scheduled.

Invitations are emailed to eligible candidates 14 weeks before the scheduled test session and payment must be received with 7 days of this email. Late payments will not be accepted.