Certified Translator

A translator transfers a written message from one language into a written message in another language, for the purpose of communication between a writer and reader who do not share the same language.

Translators work with documents from certain typical domains and types, depending on the certification they hold.

NAATI’s Certified Translator test is an objective assessment of the skills and competencies needed to practice as a translator in Australia.

Learn more about the different certification types.

Apply for certification

To apply for certification, you need to open an account in our customer portal, myNAATI. You can make your application from myNAATI. 

There are five pathways to become eligible to sit a Certified Translator test. 

Details can be found in the Certification System Overview

There are separate tests for LOTE into English and English into LOTE certification.

The Certified Translator certification test involves completing three tasks:

  • Two translations of a non-specialised text (you will translate two texts from a choice of three)
  • One revision of a non-specialised translation

Each test task will be on a different topic from a different domain. 

Time allowed: 3.5 hours

NAATI has developed a series of examples of test task types to help you prepare for the test. Use the links below to download them:

These materials are © National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters Ltd and cannot be reproduced without the permission of NAATI. 

NAATI will be conducting a range of Certified Translator tests between the following dates:

  • 2 - 6 March 2020: Arabic, Burmese, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Malay, Persian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Vietnamese
  • 8 - 12 June 2020: Arabic, Chinese, Indonesian
  • 29 June - 3 July 2020: Vietnamese, Persian, Spanish, Korean & Italian (new candidates only)
  • 21 - 25 September 2020: Macedonian, Thai, Punjabi, Russian, Sinhalese, Urdu, Croatian, Dari, Persian, Polish, Portuguese
  • 19 - 23 October 2020: Bangla, Tamil, Filipino, Chinese, Arabic, Vietnamese
  • 4 - 8 January 2021: Chinese

The list of dates above is not exhaustive. Testing may only be available in some states, depending on demand.

Further dates will be published as they become available. NAATI reserves the right to amend or cancel test dates.

Click here to find out about certification prerequisites, and here to apply for a certification test.

Please note that NAATI must have assessed your application as 'eligible for testing' before you can select and pay for a test session through your myNAATI portal. Candidates can enrol themselves in an available test session up until 5 weeks prior to testing. Click here to learn more about how certification tests are scheduled.