Certification Scheme Design Summary

The NAATI certification system has been designed after considering the knowledge, skills and attributes identified as necessary for professional practice. It is made up of three components:

  1. Satisfying the prerequisites: these are the criteria you need to meet in order to be eligible for the certification test.
  2. Passing the certification test: this is a performance based test of your translation or interpreting skills. If you are successful in passing this test, you will be awarded certification.
  3. Satisfying the recertification requirements: Once you have been awarded certification, you will be required to meet certain criteria every three years in order to retain it. If you cannot meet these requirements, your certification will expire.

Certification Scheme Design Summary - Spoken Languages

PDF icon

Certification Scheme Design Summary - Auslan

PDF icon