Other Services

NAATI also provides a number of other testing and assessment services related to migration and other government allowances. These services are completely separate to NAATI certification and cannot be considered as a NAATI credential. 

**Applications for Credentialed Community Language (CCL) testing have been temporarily closed until June 2018**

As part of certain points-based visa applications made to the Department of Home Affairs, it is expected that individuals who pass the NAATI CCL test will be able to claim CCL points (sometimes referred to as the ‘five bonus points’). 

  • Click here for more information about the test. 

NAATI expects that individuals who obtain certification would also be eligible to claim CCL points without sitting additional testing.

In 2018, NAATI will run CCL tests in the following weeks:

  • 19-23 March 2018
  • 14-18 May 2018
  • 18-22 June 2018
  • 13-17 August 2018
  • 22-26 October 2018
  • 3-7 December 2018

Eligible applicants will be advised by email if a test place has been offered to them.

An individual who has passed a CCL test is not certified to work as an interpreter or translator.

Community Language Aide (CLA) Testing is used by the public and private sectors to determine eligibility for language allowances. It is appropriate for anyone needing to communicate at a basic level in a language other than English in the workplace. An individual who has passed a CLA test is not qualified to act as an interpreter or translator. 

NAATI will be providing more information about CLA testing in 2018.

Applicants for a skilled migration visa must nominate an occupation that is on the combined skilled occupation list. NAATI is the assessing authority for the occupations of Translator and Interpreter in accordance with the Migration Regulations 1994. In order to gain a successful skills assessment for these occupations an individual must gain Certified Interpreter, Certified Translator or higher.

If you apply indicating you want a skills assessment, we will assess your skills as "suitable" or "not suitable" for your nominated occupation (that is, translator or interpreter) against the standards we have established (i.e. NAATI certification). More details about the Australian Government immigration skilled occupations lists are available from the Department of Home Affairs website.

Though the occupations of Translator and Interpreter are not currently on the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), state or territory governments may nominate applicants whose skills as a translator or interpreter are needed in their particular region. You will need to contact the relevant state or territory body for more information.  

Click here for more detailed information. 

NAATI cannot provide information or advice about visa requirements. Questions about visa requirements and migration should be directed here.

Once you have been awarded a successful skills assessment (i.e you hold NAATI Certification (Certified level or higher) or NAATI accreditation (professional level or higher), you may apply to NAATI to provide an opinion as to:

  1. The comparable Australian level qualification of an interpreting or translating qualification obtained at an overseas institution.
  2. The demonstration of verifiable skilled employment as a translator or interpreter undertaken in the last ten years.

Click here for more detailed information.

Click here to access the application form.