Auslan Certified Specialist Legal Interpreters (CSLI) are experienced and accomplished interpreters who are experts in interpreting in the legal domain. They have completed training and undertake continuous professional development in specialist legal interpreting.

CSLIs are highly competent language users, who understand specialised terminology and have extensive knowledge of the legal domain. CSLIs have a sophisticated understanding of their role in legal settings, for example as officers of the court. They have a full and detailed knowledge and understanding of how culture and language interact, and the relevant codes of ethics and professional standards in the legal domain.

While CSLIs may work in the same institutions as CIs, they are competent to interpret complex, highly specialised communication in those institutions. For example: sentencing remarks by a judge, expert witness statements or testimony, or presentation of legal arguments

NAATI’s Certified Specialist Legal Interpreter Test is an objective assessment of the  skills and competencies  needed to practice as a specialist interpreter in the legal domain in Australia.

Candidates must hold a Certified Interpreter Certification to be eligible to sit the Certified Specialist Legal Interpreter Test.

See the Certification Scheme Design Summary for pathways.

What Will The Test Ask Me To Do?

The Auslan Certified Specialist Legal Interpreter Test has two parts:

  1. Knowledge Test
    • With seven sections
  2. Interpreting Test
    • With four interpreting tasks

You must first sit and pass the Knowledge Test to be eligible to sit the Interpreting Test. Each test will be held once a year (subject to demand).


Apply for the Certified Specialist Legal Interpreter Test through your myNAATI account.

You do not need to apply separately to sit the Knowledge Test.

The Auslan Knowledge Test will be held approximately once a year and scheduled approximately six months before the Interpreting Test.

Tests are scheduled based on demand.