Recertification is the process by which translators and interpreters with NAATI credentials demonstrate that they remain active and committed to the translation and interpreting industry at regular intervals.

All certifications from January 2018, require recertification. Before the expiry of the credential, practitioners are required to provide evidence of continuing work practice and professional development to recertify the credential for a further three years.

Download: Recertification Criteria 》

Download: PD Catalogue 》

Recertification is a universal requirement for all practitioners with a credential. The recertification process is intended to give confidence that the practitioner is:

  • Consistently working as a translation or interpreting professional
  • Constantly developing ethical decision making and professional skills
  • Maintaining language and vocabulary skills
  • Contributing positively to the profession

If a practitioner does not apply for recertification or does not meet the recertification criteria, the credential will expire.

Following consultation with industry stakeholders, NAATI has developed a proposed set of criteria that practitioners need to meet to prove that they are continuing to work at an industry standard.

In order to be recertified, you will need to demonstrate you have achieved:

Work Practice Criteria

  • For translating credentials: an average of 10 000 words per year (30 000 words over 3 years)
  • For interpreting credentials: an average of 40 assignments or hours per year (120 assignments over 3 years)
  • If you hold more than one NAATI credential (eg. you're a translator and interpreter), you are expected to provide evidence of work practice for each credential separately.

Professional Development Criteria

  • At least 120 points over 3 years no matter how many credentials you hold (an average of 40 professional development points per year)
  • The minimum points requirements in the compulsory categories of skills development (30 points over 3 years), industry-specific participation (30 points over 3 years) and maintenance of language (30 points over 3 years)

The Professional Development (PD) catalogue helps you to choose the types of activities you can claim for recertification.

You will need to log in to myNAATI to record your professional development and work practice activities for recertification (select My Logbook). 

When you are ready, apply for recertification through myNAATI (select submit an application and then recertification).  

You should still lodge an application with as much detail as possible about the work practice and professional development you completed during the three-year recertification cycle.

Consideration will also be given on a case-by-case basis if:

  • The demand for translating or interpreting services in your language combination is low; or
  • There have been extended periods where a practitioner was unable to work for maternity or health reasons. Medical evidence must be provided in support of any claim in this regard.

A year’s extension may be provided for a practitioner to meet the recertification requirements, one year pro-rata, in circumstances where not enough work or professional development has been undertaken during the recertification cycle. Extensions cannot be granted unless an application is lodged with us.

Click here for our recertification FAQs. On this page, you will find more detailed information about - 

  • Meeting recertification requirements
  • Filling out the recertification application
  • Using the recertification logbooks

Still have questions or are unsure? Email recertification@naati.com.au.