A connected community without language barriers

Migration Assessments

What are migration assessments?

NAATI is the “skills assessing authority” for the translator and interpreter occupations on the migration skilled occupations lists.

If you wish to migrate to Australia to work as a translator or interpreter, there are three ways that NAATI certification may be able to help:

  1. You can apply for a skills assessment (generally open only to those who have been sponsored by an employer, or nominated by a state or territory government).

  2. You may be able to claim points for certain qualifications obtained overseas, or for skilled employment as a translator or interpreter, which may be used towards a points-based migration visa.

  3. You may be able to claim Credentialed Community Language (CCL) points, which may be used towards a points-based migration visa. You can also gain CCL points by sitting NAATI’s Credentialed Community Language test.

NAATI recommends that you thoroughly investigate which visa you plan to apply for before you approach us.

Skills assessments

A skills assessment is where we assess your skills as “suitable” or “not suitable” for your nominated occupation (translator or interpreter) against the certification standards we have established.

This means that if you would like a skills assessment, you will need to gain NAATI certification through testing. Recognised Practising credentials are not eligible.

The expiry date of your successful skills assessment (certification) will be clearly indicated on the letter you receive from us. Generally, NAATI skills assessments are valid for three years.

To apply for a certification, select the credential that suits your skill level and training, and apply to sit the certification test with NAATI. Details on how to apply are provided on each test information page.

The Australian Government’s skilled migration program is implemented through a partnership between government and industry, coordinated by the Department of Home Affairs. The government ensures that policies and procedures for assessing the skills of prospective migrants are appropriate, transparent and do not pose unreasonable barriers to migration.

In accordance with the Migration Regulations 1994, NAATI has been specified as the assessing authority for the occupations of Translator (ANZSCO Code 272413) and Interpreter (ANZSCO Code 272412).

Check the Department of Home Affairs skilled occupation list to see which visas you can apply for.

If you want to apply for a sponsored visa, you will need to contact the relevant state or territory body for more information:

We cannot provide information or advice about visa requirements, so please make sure you understand the requirements of the particular visa for which you’re applying.

Overseas qualifications & skilled employment

Once you have been awarded a successful skills assessment (i.e. gained a NAATI certification through testing), you may apply for NAATI to provide an opinion on:

  1. What the comparable Australian qualification level is for a translating or interpreting qualification you have obtained at an overseas institution.

  2. Your verifiable skilled employment as a translator or interpreter undertaken in the last ten years.

To claim points for a qualification obtained overseas, the qualification will need to be recognised as an equivalent standard to the relevant Australian level qualification. Individuals with a translating or interpreting qualification can choose to have this assessed by NAATI for:

  • Doctorate Degree (generally 20 points)
  • Bachelor or Masters Degree (generally 15 points)
  • Australian diploma or trade qualification (generally 10 points)
  • Other award or qualification recognised by NAATI (generally 10 points)

If requested, NAATI will provide an opinion on the comparable Australian level qualification as part of the skills assessment.

Points may be awarded for employment in a skilled occupation, either in Australia or overseas. To claim points for skilled employment, the experience must be within the applicant’s nominated occupation (i.e. translator or interpreter).

Points may be awarded by demonstrating verifiable skilled employment history undertaken in Australia (in the last ten years), as follows:

  • 5 points (1-3 years)
  • 10 points (3-5 years)
  • 15 points (5-8 years)
  • 20 points (8-10 years)

For verifiable skilled employment undertaken overseas (in the last 10 years):

  • 5 points (3-5 years)
  • 10 points (5-8 years)
  • 15 points (8-10 years)

Australian and overseas employment over the past ten years can be combined, however only a maximum of 20 points can be awarded.

For the purposes of awarding points, the Department of Home Affairs requires skilled employment to comprise at least 20 hours employment per week.

If requested, NAATI will provide its opinion on the applicant’s skilled employment as part of the skills assessment.

Submit an application

If you need NAATI to make an assessment of your education qualification(s) and/or skilled employment you will need to:

  1. Obtain or hold an appropriate NAATI certification credential.
  2. Complete the Assessment of Educational Qualifications and Skilled Employment form and attach your supporting documentation.
  3. Submit your completed application to applications@naati.com.au

Details about supporting documentation can be found on the application form.

Practitioner details

credential result