A rubric is a descriptive marking scheme used to determine the level of performance a candidate displays in a certification test. It is presented as a matrix that provides scaled levels of performance for each assessment criteria. Band 1 represents the highest level of performance with Band 5 being the lowest.

The bands are used to determine whether a candidate has been successful or unsuccessful in a test. NAATI uses ‘task-specific rubrics’ meaning that each rubric is designed to assess a specific certification test task.

A minimum of two trained examiners use the rubrics to rate the performance of the candidate across a range of criteria. The opinion of each examiner is taken into account in determining whether the candidate is successful in each task and the test overall. In situations where the initial examiners disagree about the performance of the candidate additional examiners will be involved in determining the final result.

Individual test rubrics are available below:

Certified Translator
Certified Provisional Interpreter
Certified Provisional Auslan Interpreter
Certified Provisional Deaf Interpreter
Certified Interpreter
Certified Auslan Interpreter
Certified Specialist Health Interpreter
Certified Specialist Legal Interpreter
Certified Conference Interpreter
Certified Conference Interpreter – Auslan into English
Certified Conference Interpreter – English into Auslan

Ethical Competency Test
Intercultural Competency Test