NAATI certification can help people wishing to migrate to Australia to work as a translator or interpreter in three ways:

  1. Through a skills assessment (generally open only to those who have been sponsored by an employer, or nominated by a state or territory government).
  2. By allowing them to claim points for certain qualifications obtained overseas, or for skilled employment as a translator or interpreter, which may be used towards a points-based migration visa.
  3. By allowing them to claim Credentialed Community Language (CCL) points, which may be used towards a points-based migration visa.

NAATI recommends that you thoroughly investigate which visa you’d like to apply for before you approach us.

Skills Assessment

A skills assessment is where we assess your skills as “suitable” or “not suitable” for your nominated occupation (translator or interpreter) against the certification standards we have established.

This means that if you need to obtain a skills assessment, you will need to gain NAATI Certification through testing. Recognised Practising credentials are not eligible

Each successful assessment letter will have the expiry date of the assessment clearly indicated. Generally, NAATI skills assessments are valid for three years.

Using Your Skills Assessment For A Sponsored Visa 

The Australian Government’s skilled migration program is implemented through a partnership between government and industry. The Department of Home Affairs works with industry, represented by professional migration assessing authorities, to ensure that policies and procedures for assessing the skills of prospective migrants are appropriate, transparent and do not pose unreasonable barriers to migration.

In accordance with the Migration Regulations 1994, NAATI has been specified as the assessing authority for the occupations of Translator (ANZSCO Code 272413) and Interpreter (ANZSCO Code 272412).

Though the occupations of Translator and Interpreter are not currently on the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), state or territory governments may nominate applicants whose skills as a translator or interpreter are needed in their particular region. 

You will need to contact the relevant state or territory body for more information: 

We cannot provide information or advice about visa requirements, so please make sure you understand the requirements of the particular visa for which you’re applying.

Overseas Qualifications & Skilled Employment

Once you have been awarded a successful skills assessment, you may apply to NAATI to provide an opinion as to:

  1. The comparable Australian level qualification of an interpreting or translating qualification obtained at an overseas institution.
  2. The demonstration of verifiable skilled employment as a translator or interpreter undertaken in the last ten years.

Claiming Points For Educational Qualifications

To claim points for a qualification obtained overseas, the qualification will need to be recognised as being of a standard equivalent to the relevant Australian level qualification. Individuals with a translating or interpreting qualification can choose to have this assessed by NAATI for:

  • Doctorate Degree (generally worth 20 points)
  • Bachelor or Masters Degree (generally worth 15 points)
  • Australian diploma or trade qualification (generally worth 10 points)
  • Other award or qualification recognised by NAATI (generally worth 10 points)

If requested by the applicant, NAATI will provide its opinion as part of the skills assessment as to the comparable Australian level qualification.

Claiming Points For Skilled Employment

Points may be awarded for employment in a skilled occupation, either in Australia or overseas. To claim points for skilled employment, the experience must be within the applicant’s nominated occupation (i.e. translator or interpreter).

Points may be awarded by demonstrating verifiable skilled employment history undertaken in Australia (in the last ten years), as follows:

  • 5 points (1-3 years)
  • 10 points (3-5 years)
  • 15 points (5-8 years)
  • 20 points (8-10 years)

For verifiable skilled employment undertaken overseas (in the last 10 years):

  • 5 points (3-5 years)
  • 10 points (5-8 years)
  • 15 points (8-10 years)

Australian and overseas employment over the past ten years can be combined, however only a maximum of 20 points can be awarded.

For the purposes of awarding points, the Department of Home Affairs considers skilled employment will comprise at least 20 hours employment per week.

If requested by the applicant, NAATI will provide its opinion, as part of the skills assessment, on the skilled employment claims.

Making An Application

If NAATI is to make an assessment of your education qualification(s) and/or skilled employment you will need to:

  1. Obtain or hold an appropriate non-expired NAATI Credential.
  2. Complete Assessment of Educational Qualifications and Skilled Employment and attach your supporting documentation.
  3. Submit your completed application to

Details about supporting documentation can be found on the application form.